Increase font size Decrease font size Reset font size

Chairpersons of four Senate committees elected

By Ikram Junaldi 2018-05-08
ISLAMABAD: Senators retired Lt Gen Abdul Qayyum, Faisal Javed, Shibli Faraz and Sassui Palijo were unanimously elected on Monday as chairpersons of four Senate standing committees.

For the Standing Committee on Defence Production, Senator Nauman Wazir Khattak of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf proposed Mr Qayyum`s name as its chairman and the move was seconded by members.

The newly-elected chairman said that fast evolving regional and global geostrategic environments had changed the security paradigm. `It is heartening to note that Pakistan`s indigenous defence production skills have now started earning international recognition, especially in the fields of state-of-the-art small arms, artillery and tank ammunitions, top of the line armoured personnel carrier (APCs) and tanks, missiles and fighter jets,` he said.

During the meeting of Standing Committee on Information Broadcasting and National Heritage, Senator Maula Bux Chandio proposed the name of Senator Faisal Javed and he was unanimously elected as its chairman.

`The committee members would work as a team to bring improvement in the working of the ministry, attached departments and promote a soft image of the country`, said Senator Javed.

Meanwhile, the Senate Standing Committee on Commerce and Textile in its inaugural meeting unanimously elected Senator Shibli Faraz as its chairman.

Mr Faraz`s name was proposed by Senator Islamuddin Sheikh. The chairman, who served the previous tenure in the same capacity, vowed to continue pushing for reducing trade deficit with several countries and also called for an integrated approach in making the trade environment better.

The Standing Committee on Parliamentary Affairs elected Senator Sassui Palijo as its chairperson. Her name was proposed by Senator Farooq Hamid Naek and was seconded by Senator Khanzada Khan. The chairperson aspired to make the work of the committee result-oriented during the next three years.