Increase font size Decrease font size Reset font size

Old faces re-elected in PTl intra-party elections

By Our Staff Reporter 2017-06-14
ISLAMABAD: Imran Khan was re-elected as chairman of the Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf in elections held last week. He secured only seven per cent of the total number of registered voters.

According to the party`s media department, Imran Khan-led Insaf Panel `won`the intra-party elections of the PTl with a big margin by securing 73.5 percent of the polled votes.

The results of the intra-party elections, announced by Azam Swati, show that besides Imran Khan, almost all the previous officebearers have been re-elected on the same positions for the next four years.

The official announcement said the Insaf Panel secured 189,055 votes while a rival group, the Ehtesab Panel headed by an unknown party activist Naik Mohammad Khan, secured 41,647 votes.

The CEC said that out of 2.7 million registered voters, 256,957 cast their votes during the two-day polling process. Out of these, 26,255 votes had been rejected.

The highest turnout was recorded in Punjab, followed by Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Shah Mahmood Qureshi and Jahangir Tareen have been re-elected as the party`s vicechairman and secretary general, respectively.

Others who have been elected are Aleem Khan (President Central Punjab); Aamir Mehmood Kiyani (President North Punjab); Faizullah Kamoka (West Punjab);lshaq Khan Khakwani (South Punjab) and Arif Alvi (President Sindh chapter).