Increase font size Decrease font size Reset font size

WSSP board head, non-official members resign

Bureau Report 2017-05-23
PESHAWAR: Chairman of the Board of Directors (BoDs) of Water and Sanitation Service Peshawar (WSSP) along with non-official members on Monday resigned in protest against the provincial government’s decision of handing over municipal and water services of Hayatabad and University Town from WSSP to Peshawar Development Authority (PDA).

Sources in the Chief Minster Secretariat said that a few days back, CM Pervez Khattak had formally approved taking the municipal services authority of Hayatabad and University Town from WSSP and handed it over to the PDA.

This decision had been made at a meeting where the CM had expressed displeasure over the WSSP performance and announced that Hayatabad and University Town would no more remain under the WSSP.

However, to record their protest against the CM’s decision, the BoGs chairman Khalid Masood, and its non-official members, including Senator Nauman Wazir, Sahibzada Khalid, Engr Naeem, Nelam Turo and Iqbal Khalil, formally resigned from the office.

The sources said that they had formally submitted their resignations to the CM secretariat, and it was likely to be approved by the chief minister as he was not in a position to compromise on the cleanliness of Peshawar, and on the change slogan, for which the people had voted the PTI to power in the last general elections.