Increase font size Decrease font size Reset font size

Plea seeking Sana`s disqualification rejected

By Our Staff Reporter 2018-08-08
LAHORE: The Lahore High Court on Monday dismissed a petition seeking disqualification of PML-N leader Rana Sanaullah Khan, who won from NA-106 Faisalabad, after terming it non-maintainable.

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf`s (PTI)Dr Nisar Ahmed Jutt, who lost the July 25 polls to Sanaullah, challenged the former Punjab law minister`s win, arguing that he `caused harm to the sanctity of Islam` thereby violating articles 62 and 63 of the Constitution. He pointed out that Sanaullah gave controversial religious statements.

The court also disposed of Jutt`s other petition seeking a vote recount in the constituency and asked him to approach the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP). The retuning officer, however, had rejected his plea for a complete recount.

Senior lawyer Azam Nazir Tarrar appeared on behalf of Rana Sanaullah and stated that apetition for recount was already pending adjudication before the ECP. Justice Mamoon Rashid disposed ofthe petition.

The court also disposed of a petition of PPP candidate from NA-114 Jhang, Faisal Saleh Hayat, seeking a complete vote recount in his constituency, and directed the ECP to decide the petition in accordance with law af ter hearing both sides.

Justice Mamoon Rashid was hearing Hayat`s plea challenging the returning officer`s decision of rejecting his recount request.

The court also dismissed PML-N leader Abid Sher Ali`s petition for recounting of votes in NA-108Faisalabad. PTI`s Farrukh Habib had won the seat. Abid through his counsel pleaded that his polling agents were ousted from polling stations at the time of counting of votes and that Form 45 was not provided to his polling agents.

Habib pointed out that a complete vote recount had already been conducted in the constituency following the RO`s orders, but the petitioner had concealed the fact from the court.

The court also rejected a request by PTPs Firdous Ashig Awan seeking vote recount in her NA-72 Sialkot constituency.

Justice Mamoon Rasheed was hearing the case filed by Ms Awanagainst the victory of PML-N`s Chaudhry Armughan.

The petition stated that Firdous lost the election by securing 91,392 while her rival secured 129,041 votes and 7,015 votes were rejected in the constituency. It further said that the polling agents were not provided copies of Form 45. She also alleged that PML-N workers forced their way into the polling stations and polled votes for him.

Firdous pleaded the court to order a complete recount in all polling stations, and withhold the notification of election results.

However, the court turned down the request declaring it not suitable for hearing.